Back to list

Foundation announces top winner of Taiwan history novel awards

2018/03/17 23:23:25

From left to right: Koo Kuan-min (辜寬敏), Ko Tsung-ming (柯宗明), Chang Ing-ming (張英珉), and Cheng Li-chiun (鄭麗君).

Taipei, March 17 (CNA) The New Taiwan Peace Foundation announced Saturday its first top prize recipient of the Taiwan History Novel Awards, an annual event which has been held since 2015.

Ko Tsung-ming (柯宗明), who won the prestigious award for his novel "Tan Ting-pho's password"(陳澄波密碼) in a ceremony held in Taipei, said Taiwan is not short of novelists, but lacks significantly in books about Taiwanese history.

Held for the third consecutive year, the finalists this year consisted of works by Chan Ming-ju (詹明儒), Ming Yu-ping (明毓屏) and Chang Ing-ming (張英珉), who consequently took the prize for excellence with his novel titled "Ah Hsiang" (阿香).

According to the foundation, no top prize winner for the Taiwan History Novel Awards had been announced in the two previously events due to the lack of quality entries.

This year's jury members included renowned Taiwanese Director Wu Nien-jen (吳念真) and poet Lee Min-yung (李敏勇).

The Taiwan History Novel Awards was created with an aim to call for prospective writers to turn in novels of more than 100,000 words based on historical events or figures in Taiwan. The top award also came with a prize of NT$1.2 million (US$41,379).

The award ceremony on Saturday also saw the presence of Culture Minister Cheng Li-chiun (鄭麗君), who praised the event for highlighting Taiwan's history.

"Only when we know ourselves will the world know us," she said.

(By Liu Lee-jung and Ko Lin)