Back to list

European Parliament members decorated for Taiwan-EU contributions

2019/02/18 19:41:22

Foreign Minister Joseph Wu (right) and Werner Langen

Taipei, Feb. 18 (CNA) A group of visiting European Parliament (EP) members praised Taiwan's democracy Monday as an example for the region as they were awarded medals by Foreign Minister Joseph Wu (吳釗燮) for their years of contributions to promoting Taiwan-European Union (EU) relations.

In a ceremony held at the foreign ministry headquarters in Taipei, EP members Bas Belder from the European Conservatives and Reformists Group, Eduard Kukan from the Group of the European People's Party (EPP), and Cristian Preda, also of the EPP, were each conferred with the Friendship Medal of Diplomacy in recognition of their dedication and remarkable contributions to enhanced relations between the EU and Taiwan.

In his address, Wu thanked them for their support over the years in the EP, including the passage of initiatives and resolutions in support of the country. All three are members of the EP-Taiwan Friendship Group (TFG).

In response, they expressed their gratitude for the honor, while praising Taiwan for its democracy and rule of law, which they said can serve as a model for the region.

Preda lauded Taiwan as "an example in the region when it comes to system of governance, and a close partner of the EP that believes in human rights and fundamental freedom."

He said the group will continue to put Taiwan on the EP agenda, as it did in January when EP members discussed cross-Taiwan Strait relations and its support for maintaining the cross-strait status quo through peaceful means.

He added that he hopes to arrange an official EP mission to Taiwan in the near future as a concrete move to support the island.

The three EP members are part of a larger seven-man delegation organized by Werner Langen, chairman of the TFG, which is currently visiting the country.

(By Joseph Yeh)