Back to list

9 candidates registered for Taipei, Taichung legislative by-elections

2018/12/14 23:05:13

CNA file photo

Taipei, Dec. 14 (CNA) A total of nine candidates have registered to compete in the legislative by-elections for seats vacated in Taipei and Taichung during recent local elections, according to the Central Election Commission Friday.

The opposition party Kuomintang's (KMT's) Shen Jhih-huei (沈智慧), Independent Chiu Yu-shan (邱于珊), Democratic Progressive Party's (DPP's) Wang Yi-chuan (王義川) and United Party's Lin Chung-sheng (林忠勝) will compete for the legislative seat for Taichung's 5th electoral district, left vacant by the city's mayor-elect, Lu Shiow-yen (盧秀燕) of the KMT, a statement from the Commission showed.

Meanwhile, the DPP's Ho Chih-wei (何志偉), Independent Chen Su-yu (陳思宇), "National non-partisan coalition's" Chen Yuan-chi (陳源奇), the KMT's Chen Ping-fu (陳炳甫) and Independent Wang Yi-kai (王奕凱) will compete for Taipei's 2nd electoral district, left vacant by the DPP's Taipei mayoral candidate Yao Wen-chih (姚文智).

Under the Civil Servants Election and Recall Act, a by-election has to be held within three months of a legislative seat being vacated when more than one year remains in the term to be served. The current term ends on Jan. 31, 2020.

According to the CEC, those seeking to run in the by-elections need to register their candidacy by Dec. 14, while corresponding elections will be held on Jan. 27, 2019.

(By William Yen)