Back to list

'Ilo Ilo' biggest winner at Golden Horse Awards

2013/11/24 01:36:56

'Ilo Ilo' director Anthony Chen (center, left) and cast, including Best Supporting Actress award winner Yeo Yann Yann (second right).

Taipei, Nov. 23 (CNA) Singaporean director Anthony Chen's debut feature "Ilo Ilo" emerged as the biggest winner at the 50th Golden Horse Awards in Taipei on Saturday, grabbing four awards, including best feature film.

The highly praised film entered the competition with six nominations. Chen scooped up the Best New Director and Best Original Screenplay awards with his debut feature, while Yeo Yann Yann, who plays a mother in the movie, won Best Supporting Actress.

Taiwan-based Malaysian director Tsai Ming-liang's "Stray Dog," which went into the event with five nods, also finished strong, capturing the Best Director and Best Leading Actor awards for Tsai and Taiwan's Lee Kang-sheng, respectively.

Meanwhile, Hong Kong director Wong Kar-wai's martial arts flick "The Grandmaster," which led the pack with 11 nominations, came away with the Best Leading Actress award for China's Zhang Ziyi, Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Visual Effects and Best Makeup and Costume Design.

"The Grandmaster" was also selected as the best film by audience vote on Friday.

Chinese director Jia Zhangke's crime drama "A Touch of Sin," nominated in six categories, picked up the Best Original Film Score and Best Film Editing awards.

The Golden Horse Best Supporting Actor award went to Chinese actor Li Xuejian for his role as a caring Chinese government official in "Back To 1942" by director Feng Xiaogang.

A complete list of winners at the 50th Golden Horse Awards is as follows:

Best feature film: "Ilo Ilo" ;

Best director: Tsai Ming-liang, "Stray Dogs" ;

Best leading actor: Lee Kang-sheng, "Stray Dogs" ;

Best leading actress: Zhang Ziyi, "The Grandmaster" ;

Best supporting actor: Li Xuejian, "Back to 1942" ;

Best supporting actress: Yeo Yann Yann, "Ilo Ilo" ;

Lifetime achievement award: Chen Chen ;

Best original screenplay: Anthony Chen, "Ilo Ilo" ;

Best adapted screenplay: Li Qiang, "So Young";

Best action choreography: Jackie Chan, He Jun, JC Stunt Team, "CZ12" ;

Best art direction: William Chang Suk-ping, Alfred Yau Wai-ming, "The Grandmaster" ;

Best film editing: Matthieu Laclau, Lin Xudong, "A Touch of Sin" ;

Best cinematography: Philippe Le Sourd, "The Grandmaster" ;

Best visual effects: Pierre Buffin,"The Grandmaster" ;

Best original film score: Lim Giong, "A Touch of Sin" ;

Best original film song: "I Love You," Lyric & Composer: Spark Chen; Performer: Sleepy Dads, "Rock Me to the Moon" ;

Best sound effects: Tu Duu-chih, Kuo Li-chi, "Soul";

Best makeup and costume design: William Chang Suk-ping, "The Grandmaster" ;

Best documentary: "Beyond Beauty: Taiwan from Above" ;

Best short film: "Butter Lamp" Outstanding Taiwanese filmmaker of the year: Yeh Ju-feng ;

Best new performer: Kuo Shu-yau "Step Back to Glory" ;

Best new director: Anthony Chen, "Ilo Ilo";

Best film by audience vote: "The Grandmaster".

(By Christie Chen)