Back to list

DPP draws top listing on presidential ballot (update)

2011/12/09 11:58:20

Taipei, Dec. 9 (CNA) Opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) presidential candidate Tsai Ing-wen and her running mate Su Jia-chyuan will be listed at the top of the presidential election ballot, according to the results of a draw held Friday at the Central Election Commission (CEC).

President Ma Ying-jeou and Premier Wu Den-yih of the ruling Kuomintang (KMT) will be second on the ballot, followed by James Soong and Lin Ruey-shiung of the People First Party (PFP), a KMT splinter group.

The order was determined by a draw conducted by the CEC in accordance with election regulations. Representatives of the DPP and KMT drew on behalf of their parties' respective candidates, while a CEC official drew on behalf of the PFP since the party's secretary-general Chin Chin-sheng was delayed by traffic jams.

The draw went smoothly, taking less than 10 minutes. Supporters of the various parties showed up, carrying placards and shouting slogans that reflected the candidates' numbers on the ballot.

After the draw, a group of Tsai supporters shouted "Taiwan's first female president." Meanwhile, Ma supporters said "good things come in pairs," and wished him "success in seeking a second term." Outside the venue, Soong's fans shouted "third time's a charm."

The official list of presidential and vice presidential candidates for the Jan. 14 election will be announced on Dec. 16, according to the CEC.

(By Nancy Liu)