Back to list

Line app adds 'unsend' function to messaging platform

2017/12/13 19:53:11

Image taken from LINE台灣官方blog網頁

Taipei, Dec. 13 (CNA) Instant messaging app Line added a new "unsend" function to its chat window Wednesday, allowing users to recall missent messages within a 24-hour window.

With the latest app update, Line users can now delete their messages within 24 hours of them being sent by clicking the "unsend" button.

While previously, deleting a message would only result in the message disappearing from one's own device, the "unsend" feature wipes the message from both the sender and receiver's devices, as long as it is used within 24 hours of when the message was sent.

There will, however, be a "You unsent a message" caption that shows up in the chat window, so that those who should have received the missent message will know that the message was deleted.

According to a statement from the company, message types that can be unsent include text and voice messages, stickers, images, videos, URLs, Line Music links, contacts, location information, files and call history. This applies to both read and unread messages.

The "unsend" feature is supported on mobile and desktop versions of the popular messaging app, although it cannot be used on Chrome 1.4.17 or later versions of the web browser.

Another caveat, pointed out by U.S. technology news website TechCrunch, is that the receiver of the missent message must have the updated version of the app that supports the "unsend" function in order for it to work.

(By Kuan-lin Liu and Jeffrey Wu)