Back to list

Steve Chabot elected co-chair of U.S. Congressional Taiwan Caucus

2019/01/19 12:03:00

U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot (Image taken from his Facebook page)

Washington, Jan. 18 (CNA) U.S. Representative Steve Chabot, a long-time supporter of Taiwan, was elected the new co-chair of the Congressional Taiwan Caucus (CTC) in the House of Representatives on Friday, according to a U.S.-based private group promoting independence for Taiwan.

The other current co-chairs are Rep. Gerry Connolly, Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart and Rep. Albio Sires, the Formosan Association for Public Affairs said in a Facebook post.

The CTC was co-founded in 2002 by Chabot and three other U.S. Representatives: Sherrod Brown, Dana Rohrabacher and Robert Wexler.

A staunch friend of Taiwan and a former chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee's Asia and the Pacific Subcommittee, Chabot introduced the Taiwan Travel Act in the House of Representatives in 2017.

The bill was signed into law by President Donald Trump on March 16, 2018, after clearing the House and Senate.

It calls for regular high-level exchanges between U.S. and Taiwanese officials, including visits.

(By Chiang Chin-yeh and Y.F. Low)