Back to list

Foreign surfers win all titles at Taiwan Open of Surfing

2015/11/29 21:35:17

Last year's event. (CNA file photo)

Taipei, Nov. 29 (CNA) After three days of heated competitions, three foreign surfers were crowned Sunday in all three categories of contests of the 2015 Taiwan Open of Surfing, which kicked off on Nov. 26 at Jinzun in Taitung County.

Perth Standlick from Australia defeated Japanese rival Takumi Nakamura to win the finals of the QS1500 event with a score of 17.65 points.

"This is my first QS win!" said Standlick in a report on the World Surf League (WSL) official website.

"This gives me some confidence, points and money heading into next year. Thanks to everyone at home for the support and thanks for everyone in Taiwan at this event, I love this place," the new champion said.

American Tony Silvagni beat two-time World Longboard Champion Taylor Jensen to win the men's longboard qualifying series (LQS) event, and his compatriot Crystal Dzigas from Hawaii took the championship in the women's LQS category.

"I'm ecstatic," Silvagni said. "Taylor (Jensen) is the one to beat, he has won so many contests this year so I knew I'd have my work cut out for me."

"I'm so happy I've been able to win this contest. Taiwan is amazing, the people are so friendly, the food is great it's just a really healthy atmosphere, it's a special event for sure, I look forward to coming back. This has been an all round perfect day." Silvagni said.

Taiwanese surfers Cheng Chung-hua (鄭仲華) and Lin Chien-chih (林健志) made themselves to the top 16 in the men's LQS.

The Taiwan Open of Surfing, organized by the Taitung County government and the WSL, closed with an athletes farewell pool party at a hotel close to Jinzun harbor Sunday evening.

More than 70 top surfers from 13 countries, including Australia, Costa Rica, France, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Peru, the United Kingdom and the United States, participated in the top surfing event of Taiwan that offered NT$2 million (US$61,000) in cash prize.

(By Su Chih-tzung and Elizabeth Hsu)