Back to list

KMT chairman election tentatively set for May 20

2016/12/19 17:35:18

Taipei, Dec. 19 (CNA) Elections for the next Kuomintang (KMT) chairman and party representatives are tentatively set for next May 20, a party official said Monday.

The elections for Central Committee members and Central Standing Committee members, meanwhile, are tentatively slated for July 8 and July 29, respectively, KMT Central Policy Committee Director Alex Tsai (蔡正元) said, citing a plan passed in a KMT central working meeting.

The plan will be presented for discussion in a Central Standing Committee meeting on Dec. 21, he said.

The chairman of the KMT serves a four-year term.

Former President Ma Ying-jeou (馬英九) was re-elected as KMT chairman in 2013 but resigned in December 2014 to assume responsibility for the party's defeat in that year's nine-in-one local elections.

New Taipei Mayor Eric Chu (朱立倫) succeeded the chairmanship in January 2015, but he also stepped down in January this year in the wake of the KMT's crushing loss in the presidential and legislative elections.

Former Deputy Legislative Speaker Hung Hsiu-chu (洪秀柱) has held the leadership position since March.

Possible candidates for the next KMT chairman election include Chu and former Vice President Wu Den-yih (吳敦義).

(By Claudia Liu and Y.F. Low)