Eight independent hopefuls register to run for presidency

09/18/2019 06:18 PM
To activate the text-to-speech service, please first agree to the privacy policy below.
former Vice President Annette Lu
former Vice President Annette Lu

Taipei, Sept. 18 (CNA) Eight prospective candidates have registered to run on independent tickets in the 2020 presidential election, the Central Election Commission (CEC) announced in a statement Wednesday.

The eight are former Vice President Annette Lu (呂秀蓮), Huang Tuo-yu (黃多玉), Lan Hsin-chi (藍信祺), Tseng Kun-ping (曾坤炳), Huang Jung-chang (黃榮章), Yang Shih-kuang (楊世光), Wang Yao-li (王堯力) and Mei Feng (梅峰), according to a list of prospective independent presidential candidates released by the CEC.

The candidates must launch a drive from Sept. 19-Nov. 2 to collect 280,384 valid signatures, which is 1.5 percent of the electorate as counted in the 2016 legislative election, in support of their bid, and put up a NT$1 million (US$32,020) deposit, according to the CEC.

The petitions must be submitted in print, as the commission does not accept petition signatures collected in electronic form via apps.

If the prospective candidates fail to reach half the required amount of signatures, they will lose their deposits, according to the CEC.

Lu announced Tuesday that she will run in the upcoming presidential election as an independent.

Lu served as Taiwan's vice president between 2000 and 2008 and announced her departure from the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) in May 2018.

Huang Tuo-yu, a Buddhist master, said he is the first monk to register for the presidency. Huang was an expatriate in South Korea before returning to Taiwan and said he is determined to create another economic miracle for Taiwan.

Lan is an ex-convict who served 19 years in prison in a high-profile double homicide he committed in 1981 when he was 17 years old.

Lan first registered to run for the presidency in 2011 after his release from jail but his application was rejected. He again launched a signature drive for a presidential bid in 2015 but was unable to collect sufficient signatures and lost his deposit.

Tseng, a judicial reform advocate, who represented the opposition Kuomintang and was elected as a Taichung city councilor for two terms before joining the ruling Democratic Progressive Party, ran for Penghu magistrate as an independent in 2009.

(By Ku Chuan and Evelyn Kao)


    We value your privacy.
    Focus Taiwan (CNA) uses tracking technologies to provide better reading experiences, but it also respects readers' privacy. Click here to find out more about Focus Taiwan's privacy policy. When you close this window, it means you agree with this policy.