Diplomats, officials formally sworn in for new postings

08/02/2016 12:50 PM
To activate the text-to-speech service, please first agree to the privacy policy below.

Taipei, Aug. 2 (CNA) Several officials, including new envoys to the United States, United Kingdom and the World Trade Organization (WTO), took their oaths of office in Taipei on Tuesday with President Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) looking on.

Stanley Kao (高碩泰), who was named in May and traveled to Washington in June to take up his new post as Taiwan's representative to the U.S., was one of eight diplomats formally sworn in during a ceremony at the Presidential Office.

Among the other envoys taking their oaths were former Foreign Minister David Lin (林永樂), who will be dispatched to London, and Hsieh Chih-wei (謝志偉), who will represent Taiwan in Germany for the second time.

Former National Science Council chief Cyrus Chu (朱敬一) was sworn in as the new head of Taiwan's mission to the WTO, journalist and political commentator Antonio Chiang (江春男) as Taiwan's representative to Singapore, and former Bureau of Consular Affairs Director-General Kung Chung-chen (龔中誠) as envoy to Canada.

Others sworn in were former Investigation Bureau Director-General Wang Chung-yi (汪忠一), who will be Taiwan's representative to the Czech Republic and former representative to Fiji and Singapore Kuo Shih-nan (郭時南) who will become envoy to Greece.

Tao Yi-feng (陶儀芬), an associate political science professor at National Taiwan University, was sworn in as the new head of the Coordination Council for North American Affairs under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a post left vacant by Chang Hsiao-yueh (張小月), who has headed the Mainland Affairs Council since May.

Academia Sinica President James Liao (廖俊智), who was appointed to the post in June, also took his oath of office during Tuesday's ceremony, along with Minister without Portfolio Hsu Jan-yau (許璋瑤), Executive Yuan Deputy Secretary-General Ho Pei-shan (何佩珊), Deputy Defense Minister Lee Hsi-ming (李喜明) and National Security Council Deputy Secretary-General York Chen (陳文政).

Three Examination Yuan officials -- Deputy Minister of Examination Hsu Shu-hsiang (許舒翔), Deputy Minister of Civil Service Lin Wen-tsan (林文燦) and Deputy Minister of Civil Service Protection and Training Commission Hao Pei-chih (郝培芝) -- were formally sworn in as well on Tuesday.

(By Claudia Liu and Kay Liu)


    We value your privacy.
    Focus Taiwan (CNA) uses tracking technologies to provide better reading experiences, but it also respects readers' privacy. Click here to find out more about Focus Taiwan's privacy policy. When you close this window, it means you agree with this policy.