Back to list

World Academy of Sciences selects three Taiwanese as fellows

2018/02/06 17:23:44

Image taken from Pixabay

Taipei, Feb. 6 (CNA) The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), an organization that was established in Italy in 1983 and focuses on the development of the Southern Hemisphere, in January selected three academicians from Taiwan's Academia Sinica as fellows.

According to an Academia Sinica press statement, Lee Wen-hua (李文華), Chang Mei-hwei (張美惠) and Chung Sun-lin (鍾孫霖) were selected as three of 55 newly named TWAS fellows, for their expertise in the fields of structural cell and molecular biology, medical and health sciences, astronomy, space and earth sciences, respectively.

TWAS published profiles of the new fellows on its website on Jan. 26, referring to Lee as a "pioneer of tumor suppressor in cancer biology."

Lee, who is president of China Medical University in Taiwan, identified the first tumor suppressor gene and has been credited with shedding light on the function of two breast cancer susceptibility genes.

Meanwhile, Chang, a distinguished chair professor of pediatrics at National Taiwan University, "contributed in providing the first and the long-term evidences to prove hepatitis B vaccine as the first cancer preventive vaccine in humans and in promoting the concept and research of cancer preventive vaccine in the world," the website noted.

Chung is a highly regarded leading figure in earth sciences for "significant contributions to our understanding of continental tectonics and magma generation based on his outstanding studies in High Asia (from Tibet to Iran) and neighboring regions."

The 2018 class of TWAS fellows are, according to the academy, among the world's most accomplished scientists "living in or focused on the developing world."

In December, Taiwan's Tseng Yu-Chee (曾煜棋) was named one of the winners of the 2018 TWAS Prize in the field of engineering sciences for "significant contributions to wireless and mobile networks."

Tseng previously served as dean of the College of Computer Science at National Chiao-Tung University, and is a lifetime chair professor at the college.

He will receive his award, which comes with a US$15,000 cash prize, at the 28th General Meeting of TWAS in November.

(By Kuan-lin Liu Yu Hsiao-han)