Back to list

Four new ministers sworn in

2017/02/08 19:30:38

(From left to right: Chen Liang-gee, Lin Mei-chu, Chen Shih-chung, and Lin Tsung-hsien)

Taipei, Feb. 8 (CNA) Four newly appointed ministers in the first Cabinet reshuffle of the Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) administration were sworn into office Wednesday.

The Cabinet announced the reshuffle on Feb. 3, which saw the appointment of Yilan Magistrate Lin Tsung-hsien (林聰賢) as head of the Council of Agriculture (COA), and Deputy Education Minister Chen Liang-gee (陳良基) as Minister of Science and Technology.

Former Minister without Portfolio Lin Mei-chu (林美珠) was appointed as labor minister and former Deputy Health Minister Chen Shih-chung (陳時中) as minister of Health and Welfare.

Before officially assuming his COA post, Lin Tsung-hsien stepped down from his post as magistrate earlier Wednesday, handing over the seal of office to his successor, Deputy Magistrate Wu Tse-cheng (吳澤成).

Lin said he will use his experience accumulated while serving in local government to work for the central government.

Also that day, Lin Mei-chu said in a swearing-in ceremony that she will strive to strike a balance between the best interests of employees and employers to ensure sustainable economic growth.

Meanwhile, the new health minister said that he will push for reforms in the new-generation National Health Insurance program, including adopting a system of collecting insurance contributions based on total household income rather than raising taxes to alleviate the program's financial troubles.

The new minister of science and technology outlined three goals after he assumed office: enhancing academic and research performance, creating an environment friendly for conducting academic research, and promoting industrial technology innovation.

(By Worthy Shen, Yu Hsiao-han, Chang Ming-hsun, Huang Li-yun and
Evelyn Kao)