Back to list

Premier-designate finalizes his Cabinet lineup

2016/04/28 19:09:00

From left: Lee Chung-wei, Hochen Tan, Lin Chuan, Lee Shying-jow, Hsieh Shou-shing.

Taipei, April 28 (CNA) Premier-designate Lin Chuan (林全) finalized his incoming Cabinet lineup Thursday by announcing that Hochen Tan (賀陳旦) will serve as the head of the Ministry of Transportation and Communications and Yeh Jiunn-rong (葉俊榮) will serve as interior minister.

Hochen Tan, currently the chairman of Taipei Rapid Transit Corp., previously served as head of the Taipei City government's Department of Transportation, deputy head of the Ministry of Transportation and Communications as well as chairman of Chunghwa Telecom Co.

Yeh, a professor of the College of Law at National Taiwan University previously served as a minister without portfolio and head of the Research, Development, and Evaluation Commission under the Executive Yuan.

Yeh's selection caught many by surprise after several of the other potential candidates bowed out one by one.

The others announced included Lee Chung-wei (李仲威) a former Navy Vice Admiral, to head the Coast Guard Administration, and Hsieh Shou-Shing (謝曉星), a professor of the Department of Mechanical and Electro-mechanical Engineering at National Sun Yat-sen University, to head the Atomic Energy Council.

Lee Shying-jow,(李翔宙) who previously served as vice Defense Minister, an army commander and head of the National Security Bureau, will serve as the head of the Veterans Affairs Commission.

The lineup of the Lin Chuan Cabinet is now complete. The following are the names for the key posts:

Lin Hsi-yao (林錫耀) -- vice premier of the Executive Yuan

Tung Chen-yuan (童振源) -- Cabinet spokesman

Chen Mei-ling (陳美伶) -- secretary-general of the Executive Yuan

David Lee (李大維) -- minister of foreign affairs

Katharine Chang (張小月) -- minister of the Mainland Affairs Council

Feng Shih-kuan (馮世寬) -- minister of national defense

Lee Chih-kung (李世光) -- minister of economic affairs

Ding Kung-wha (丁克華) -- head of the Financial Supervisory Commission

Yang Hung-duen (楊弘敦) -- minister of science and technology

Chiu Tai-san (邱太三) -- minister of justice

Kuo Fang-yu (郭芳煜) -- minister of labor

Lin Tsou-yen (林奏延) -- minister of health and welfare

Tsao Chi-hung (曹啟鴻) -- head of the Council of Agriculture

Lee Ying-yuan (李應元) -- head of the Environmental Protection Administration

Wu Hong-mo (吳宏謀) -- head of the Public Construction Commission

Chen Tain-jy (陳添枝) -- head of the National Development Council

Pan Wen-chung (潘文忠) -- head of the Ministry of Education

Cheng Li-chiun (鄭麗君) -- head of the Ministry of Culture

Lin Jeng-yi (林正儀) -- director of the National Palace Museum

Chu Tzer-ming (朱澤民) -- head of the Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics

Jay N. Shih (施能傑) -- head of the Personnel Administration

Icyang Parod (夷將拔路兒) -- head of the Council of Indigenous Peoples.

Lee Yung-te (李永得) -- head of the Hakka Affairs Council

Wu Hsin-hsing (吳新興) -- head of the Overseas Compatriot Affairs Commission

In addition, five ministers without portfolio posts have been filled -- Shih Jun-ji (施俊吉), Chang Ching-sen (張景森), Hsu Jan-yau (許璋瑤), Lin Mei-chu (林美珠), and Lin Wan-i (林萬億). Lin Mei-chu will serve concurrently as the head of the Mongolian and Tibetan Affairs Commission.

(By Elizabeth Hsu and Lilian Wu)