Back to list

DPP nominates 9 mayors, magistrates to stand for reelection

2017/11/29 22:29:31

President Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文, fifth left)

Taipei, Nov. 29 (CNA) The ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) on Wednesday nominated nine incumbent mayors and county magistrates to run in the 2018 local government elections.

At a DPP central executive committee meeting, President Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文), who chairs the DPP, said a "political track record is the best campaign" for the local government elections, which will be held late next year.

The next step now is for the candidates to build the strongest possible campaign teams, she said.

The nine DPP incumbents nominated to stand for reelection are Keelung Mayor Lin Yu-chang (林右昌), Taoyuan Mayor Cheng Wen-tsan (鄭文燦), Hsinchu Mayor Lin Chih-chien (林智堅), Taichung Mayor Lin Chia-lung (林佳龍), Changhua Magistrate Wei Ming-ku (魏明谷), Yunlin Magistrate Lee Chin-yung (李進勇), Chiayi Mayor Twu Shiing-jer (涂醒哲), Pingtung Magistrate Pan Meng-an (潘孟安) and Penghu Magistrate Chen Kuang-fu (陳光復).

Expressing gratitude for their party's confidence in them, the candidates outlined their various approaches to their reelection bids.

Twu said he will continue to work hard, making sure that his constituents are informed about his achievements, and will strive to make Chiayi the best city to live in Taiwan.

Cheng, meanwhile, said he will like to "complete all of Taoyuan infrastructure development projects" and can only do so if he is reelected.

On Pan's nomination, a spokesperson for the Pingtung County government said the magistrate will continue to govern with a county-centered, honest and proactive approach, maintaining his usual calm demeanor.

Echoing President Tsai's comment, Lin said he will highlight his track record in Keelung and continue to make improvements in the city.

Taiwan's local government elections will be either on Nov. 24 or Dec. 1 next year, depending on the decision of the Central Election Commission.

(By Yeh Su-ping, Fan Cheng-hsiang, Chiang Chun-liang, Kuo Chih-hsuan,
Wang Chao-yu and Kuan-lin Liu)