Back to list

Taiwan to include more 3 ASEAN nations in streamlined visa procedure

2016/06/15 23:23:28

File photo

Taipei, June 15 (CNA) Taiwan will include three more member-states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in its streamlined visa application processing procedure, Tourism Bureau Director-General David Hsieh (謝謂君) said Wednesday.

The streamlined visa processing program will be effective on Sept. 1 with Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar included in the preferential treatment program, Hsieh said.

Currently, four ASEAN nations -- Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines and Thailand -- and India are entitled to the preferential visa treatment, allowing their passport holders to apply for visas for traveling in group to Taiwan.

Besides, the citizens of these eight nations can apply for visas for visiting Taiwan on-line if they had had visas for visiting United States, Canada, European nations, Japan, Australia and New Zealand in the past or have had residence permits in these countries, Hsieh added.

The authorities have been also mulling granting multiple entry visas of two-to-five years to passengers of the ASEAN member nations who have visited Taiwan frequently without records of breaking laws and regulations, he said, adding that the authorities are seeking to extend the existing visa exemption and landing visa treatments for Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei to the other ASEAN member nations.

With the implementation of the new measures, Hsieh estimated that the number of arrivals in Taiwan from ASEAN member nations and India will increase by 280,000 or 20 percent year-on-year.

(By Tai Ya-chen and Elizabeth Hsu)