Back to list

Cabinet lineup for education, culture announced

2016/04/20 18:50:11

From left: Lin Jeng-yi, Cheng Li-chiun, Pan Wen-chung, Lin Chuan, Chu Tzer-ming and Jay N. Shih.

Taipei, April 20 (CNA) Premier-designate Lin Chuan (林全) announced more names in his incoming Cabinet lineup Wednesday, including Taichung Deputy Mayor Pan Wen-chung (潘文忠), who has been appointed to take the helm of the Ministry of Education.

Also named were Democratic Progressive Party Legislator Cheng Li-chiun (鄭麗君), who will head the Ministry of Culture, and former National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts curator Lin Jeng-yi (林正儀), who will serve as director of the National Palace Museum, which is also a Cabinet-level position.

This is the fourth round of announcements by the premier-designate to name the members of his administration team in preparation for the May 20 transfer of power.

Also named Wednesday included former National Health Insurance Chief Executive Officer Chu Tzer-ming (朱澤民), who will head the Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics.

Jay N. Shih (施能傑), a former minister of the now-defunct Research, Development and Evaluation Commission, will take the helm of the Directorate General of Personnel Administration, and New Taipei City Councilor Icyang Parod (夷將拔路兒) will head the Council of Indigenous Peoples.

Former Hakka Affairs Council Minister Lee Yung-te (李永得) will return to the same post, while Wu Hsin-hsing (吳新興), vice minister of the Overseas Compatriot Affairs Commission, will be promoted to take charge of the agency.

So far, the posts yet to be filled are the heads of the Ministry of Transportation and Telecommunications, the Ministry of the Interior, the Coast Guard Administration, the Atomic Energy Council, the Mongolian and Tibetan Affairs Commission, and the Veterans Affairs Commission.

The lineup of the Lin Chuan Cabinet has almost been set. The following are the names for the key posts:

Lin Hsi-yao (林錫耀) -- vice premier of the Executive Yuan

Tung Chen-yuan (童振源) -- Cabinet spokesman

Chen Mei-ling (陳美伶) -- secretary-general of the Executive Yuan

David Lee (李大維) -- minister of foreign affairs

Katharine Chang (張小月) -- minister of the Mainland Affairs Council

Feng Shih-kuan (馮世寬) -- minister of national defense

Lee Chih-kung (李世光) -- minister of economic affairs

Ding Kung-wha (丁克華) -- head of the Financial Supervisory Commission

Yang Hung-duen (楊弘敦) -- minister of science and technology

Chiu Tai-san (邱太三) -- minister of justice

Kuo Fang-yu (郭芳煜) -- minister of labor

Lin Tsou-yen (林奏延) -- minister of health and welfare

Tsao Chi-hung (曹啟鴻) -- head of the Council of Agriculture

Lee Ying-yuan (李應元) -- head of the Environmental Protection Administration

Wu Hong-mo (吳宏謀) -- head of the Public Construction Commission

Chen Tain-jy (陳添枝) -- head of the National Development Council

In addition, five minister without portfolio posts have been filled -- Shih Jun-ji (施俊吉), Chang Ching-sen (張景森), Hsu Jan-yau (許璋瑤), Lin Mei-chu (林美珠), and Lin Wan-i (林萬億).

(By Elizabeth Hsu)