Back to list

Legislature set to enter new era when new term begins Monday

2016/01/31 19:17:32

Legislative Speaker Wang Jin-pyng waves to reporters when leaving the Legislature Sunday.

Taipei, Jan. 31 (CNA) When the Legislature begins a new term on Monday, its leadership will likely be controlled by the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) for the first time in Taiwan's history.

On Monday, the 113 lawmakers who will begin a new four-year term will elect a speaker and a deputy speaker after they are sworn in, according to the Law Governing the Legislative Yuan's Power.


[Legislators are sworn in for a new four-year term.]

All lawmakers are eligible to be elected for the posts, decided in separate elections, and the two major parties -- the DPP and Kuomintang (KMT) -- have nominated candidates.

The DPP put forward Su Jia-chyuan (蘇嘉全) and Tsai Chi-chang (蔡其昌) as the party's candidates for speaker and deputy speaker, respectively, and with the party holding 68 of the 113 seats, the DPP's two candidates are virtually assured of victory.

A DPP win in the speaker election would end the KMT's hold on the leadership of the Legislative Yuan since the lawmaking body was established in 1948, when the Republic of China government was still based in China before having to retreat to Taiwan in 1949.

DPP's Su Jia-chyuan elected legislative speaker
DPP's Tsai Chi-chang elected deputy legislative speaker

[Lawmakers cast their vote in the speaker election]

After being named as the DPP's candidate in the speaker election on Jan. 29, Su said he was confident all lawmakers from his party will vote for him and that he would also seek support from the New Power Party and People First Party, which have five and three seats, respectively.

Su and Tsai will face Lai Shyh-bao (賴士葆) and Tseng Ming-chung (曾銘宗) of the KMT, which only secured 35 seats in the Jan. 16 election.

The winner of the speaker election will succeed Wang Jin-pyng (王金平) of the KMT, who has served as legislative speaker for a record 17 years.

Wang will remain as the most senior member in the new Legislature, having served in the body since 1976.

(By Chen Chun-hua and Kay Liu)