Back to list

Key elections get underway in Taiwan

2016/01/16 09:06:59

A poll station in New Taipei's Sanchong District.

Election Day coverage:
Tzuyu case contributes marginally to Tsai's win: scholar
Turnout in presidential race lowest in history
Six historic firsts in the 2016 presidential and legislative elections
Singapore congratulates Tsai's victory in presidential election
Five parties eligible for subsidies after gaining over 3.5% of votes

U.K., EU congratulate DPP's Tsai on being elected president
China concerned about 1992 consensus, DPP independence stance: scholars
Younger generation set to remake Taiwan's Legislature
China urged to respect Taiwan's general election results
Tsai will form task force to handle handover of power
Tsai's victory does not mean big shift in ties with China: scholar
Business leaders voice expectations for president-elect
Tainan councilor gets nation's highest votes in legislative elections

Financial stabilization fund to remain active on Jan. 18
Japan congratulates Tsai on presidential election victory
Ma hopes to discuss new Cabinet with president-elect: spokesman
U.S. scholars comment on Taiwan's elections
Full text of Tsai's victory speech at international press conference
Tsai Ing-wen urges formation of caretaker Cabinet
U.S. congratulates DPP's Tsai on being elected president
Heavy metal star from New Power Party elected legislator
Tsai vows to strengthen national unity after election victory
Tsai Ing-wen to leave Cabinet issue to constitutional procedure
Taiwan president-elect vows to maintain peace, stability with China
Two-term legislator in Taipei beats off challenge by newbie
Chiang Ching-kuo's grandson declares win in legislative race
Ex-AIT chief urges China to give Tsai time
Veteran KMT lawmaker concedes Taipei seat to first-timer
DPP takes presidency, legislature for the first time
DPP's Tsai Ing-wen declares victory in presidential race

Cabinet to resign following KMT election defeat
DPP councilor defeats KMT vice chairman for Keelung legislative seat
New Power Party's Huang beats KMT incumbent in New Taipei's 12th district
DPP's Hsiao Bi-khim wins legislative seat in Hualien
New Power Party sends military abuse victim's sister to legislature
DPP's Hsiao Bi-khim wins legislative seat in Hualien
Eric Chu concedes defeat
Former premier's daughter wins seat in legislature
Few voting infractions reported in Taiwan election
Tsai wins in symbolic constituency
KMT loses its only seat in Pingtung County
107-year-old man votes in Miaoli City
DPP retains legislative seat in Penghu
KMT candidate claims victory in Lienchiang legislative vote

[Vote count begins in Taipei.]

[The three presidential candidates cast their votes]

Taipei, Jan. 16 (CNA) Taiwanese voters go to the polls Saturday to elect a new president and a new Legislature, with early results expected to come in within hours after voting stations are closed at 4 p.m.

There are just over 18.78 million eligible voters in the country's 22 cities and counties, according to the Central Election Commission (CEC). They will cast their votes in a total of 15,582 polling places, where the votes will be tallied right after polling closes and reported to local and central election authorities.

Voter list for Taiwan's presidential election surpasses 18.78 million

The polling places were opened promptly at 8 a.m. with the weather clearing but remaining chilly in northern and eastern Taiwan. Some sporadic showers are expected in these parts of the country during the day.

It is likely to be cloudy with some sunshine in central and southern Taiwan, with temperatures ranging from 14 to 26 degrees Celsius. Temperatures will stay below 20 degrees in northern and northeastern Taiwan but highs can go up to 23 degrees in the southeastern county of Taitung.

Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) of the main opposition Democratic Progressive Party, Eric Chu (朱立倫) of the ruling Kuomintang, and James Soong (宋楚瑜) of the minority People First Party are competing in the presidential race.

●Candidate profile: Tsai Ing-wen / Eric Chu / James Soong

Final rallies on Jan. 15:
Tsai upbeat about third power transition
Chu makes election-eve call for solidarity within pan-blue camp
PFP's Soong vows to form coalition government

●Video report:

When the last elections were held in 2012, President Ma Ying-jeou (馬英九) won re-election by receiving 51.60 percent of the votes, compared with 45.63 percent won by Tsai. The turnout was 74.38 percent.

Ma's KMT won 64 seats in the Legislature, compared with 40 seats for the DPP.

This year, a total of 556 hopefuls from 18 different political parties are seeking to fill the 113 seats in the Legislature, the CEC said. Thirty-four of those are at-large seats determined by votes cast for the individual political parties.

Over 300 candidates registered for legislative elections

●For a look of the 18 parties vying for at-large seats: Part 1 / Part 2 / Part 3

The new president will take over from Ma, who will step down on May 20 after serving two four-year terms, while elected legislators will be sworn in next month.

(By Elaine Hou and Jay Chen)

●Video report: