Back to list

Golden Horse Awards 2014

2014/11/22 08:49:09

'Blind Massage,' Chen Jianbin biggest winners at Golden Horse Awards

●Best Feature Film
Blind Massage

Chen Shiang-chyi wins Golden Horse best lead actress

[Chen Shiang-chyi in "Exit"]

China's Chen Jianbin bags 3rd Golden Horse with best lead actor

Ann Hui wins Golden Horse best director for 'The Golden Era

●Best New Director
Chen Jianbin / A Fool

[Hong Kong singer/actor Jacky Cheung performs before presenting the Best New Director Award.]

Zhang Lei wins best new performer award at Golden Horse

●Best Original Film Song Award
The Road We Pass / The Continent

●Best Original Film Score Award
Chen Qigang / Coming Home

●Best Adapted Screenplay
Ma Yingli / Blind Massage

●Best Original Screenplay
Yee Chih-yen / Meeting Dr. Su

●Best Action Choreography
Jack Wong / As The Light Goes Out

●Best Visual Effects
Tong Ka-wai, Ken Law, Lucky Tracy Hannah / The Midnight After

Chen Jianbin wins best supporting actor

●Best Short Film
The Hammer And Sickle Are Sleeping

●Best Sound Effects
Fu Kang / Blind Massage

●Best Film Editing
Kong Jinlei, Jolin Zhu / Blind Massage

●Best Cinematography
Zeng Jian / Blind Massage

Best supporting actress goes to Wan Qian

●Best Documentary

Stars light up red carpet at Golden Horse Awards

●Best Art Direction
Liu Qiang / Black Coal, Thin Ice

●Best Makeup & Costume Design
Liang Tingting / Brotherhood Of Blades

●The ceremony opened with singer Ella Chen's performance.

[Opening performance, Mickey Huang (right) and actor Ethan Ruan]

Red Carpet

[Yee Chih-yen (center), director of Meeting Dr. Sun & the film's two leading actors, including Matthew Wei (left), who is nominated for the Best New Performer award]

[Last year's winner of Best New Performer award Kuo Shu-yao]

[This year's hosts Mickey Huang (left) and Ella Chen]

[Hong Kong actor Sean Lau arrives in Taiwan for the ceremony, hoping to grab his second Golden Horse Award after his 2012 win.]

Taipei, Nov. 22 (CNA) The 51st Golden Horse Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place at the National Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall in Taipei later Saturday.

The ceremony will be hosted by TV presenter Mickey Huang and pop singer Ella Chen, the "E" of pop trio S.H.E., and broadcast by Taiwan Television Enterprise (TTV).

A red carpet event will begin at 5:30 p.m., followed by the award ceremony at 7 p.m.

[Left: Jacky Cheung, who will perform during the ceremony; others: stars attending a reception for nominees Friday night]

Related stories:
●Nov. 22: Stars gear up for annual Golden Horse Awards
●Nov. 21: Baseball film 'Kano' wins Golden Horse audience award
●Oct. 2: Golden Horse nominations saw fierce competition: organizers

Following is a list of this year's nominations, with highlights of Taiwanese films in 2014: ( - winner)

●Best Feature Film
A Fool
Black Coal, Thin Ice
The Golden Era
★Blind Massage


●Best Documentary
The Walkers
The Last Moose of Aoluguya

●Best Short Film
The Free Man
★The Hammer And Sickle Are Sleeping
The Great Buddha Heipigu

●Best Director
Midi Z / Ice Poison
Diao Yinan / Black Coal, Thin Ice
★Ann Hui / The Golden Era
Wang Xiaoshuai / Red Amnesia
Lou Ye / Blind Massage

●Best Leading Actor
★Chen Jianbin / A Fool
Sean Lau / The White Storm
Liao Fan / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Masatoshi Nagase / KANO
Chang Chen / Brotherhood Of Blades

●Best Leading Actress
★Chen Shiang-chyi / Exit
Gwei Lun-mei / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Gong Li / Coming Home
Tang Wei / The Golden Era
Zhao Wei / Dearest

●Best Supporting Actor
Wang Xuebing / A Fool
Ng Man-tat / Aberdeen
★Chen Jianbin / Paradise In Service
Leon Dai / (Sex) Appeal
Jin Shi-jie / Brotherhood Of Blades

●Best Supporting Actress
Hao Lei / The Golden Era
Paw Hee-ching / Insanity
Lang Tsu-yun / Sweet Alibis
Chen Yi-han / Paradise In Service
★Wan Qian / Paradise In Service

[Sweet Alibis]

●Best New Director
★Chen Jianbin / A Fool
Chienn Hsiang / Exit
Xin Yukun / The Coffin In The Mountain
Umin Boya / KANO
Li Xiaofeng / Nezha

●Best New Performer
Ann Hsu / Design 7 Love
Zhang Huiwen / Coming Home
★Zhang Lei / Blind Massage
Tsao Yu-ning / KANO
Matthew Wei / Meeting Dr. Sun

[Meeting Dr. Sun]

●Best Original Screenplay
Xin Yukun, Feng Yuanliang / The Coffin In The Mountain
Diao Yinan / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Li Qiang / The Golden Era
Wang Xiaoshuai, Fang Lei, Li Fei / Red Amnesia
★Yee Chih-yen / Meeting Dr. Sun

●Best Adapted Screenplay
Chen Jianbin / A Fool
Chan Fai-hung, Kong Ho-yan, Fruit Chan / The Midnight After
Zou Jingzhi / Coming Home
★Ma Yingli / Blind Massage
Li Xiaofeng, Wang Mu, Pan Yu / Nezha

●Best Cinematography
Dong Jinsong / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Du Jie / No Man's Land
★Zeng Jian / Blind Massage
Mark Lee / (Sex) Appeal
Zhang Ji / North by Northeast

●Best Visual Effects
Hi-Organic motion graphic studio / Design 7 Love
Ng Yuen-fai, Chas Chau, Tam Kai-kwan / The White Storm
★Tong Ka-wai, Ken Law, Lucky Tracy Hannah / The Midnight After
Wook Kim, Park Young-soo / Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Henri Wong, Hugo Kwan, Walter Wong / As The Light Goes Out

[Design 7 Love]

●Best Art Direction
Kenneth Mak / Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
★Liu Qiang / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Fu Yingzhang / Uncle Victory
Hao Yi / No Man's Land
Huang Mei-ching / Paradise In Service

●Best Makeup & Costume Design
Bruce Yu, Lee Pik-kwan / Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Hao Yi / No Man's Land
Amanda Deng, Lin Xin-yi, Tu Mei-ling / KANO
Fang Chi-luen, Hsu Li-wen, Kao Chia-lin / Paradise In Service
★Liang Tingting / Brotherhood Of Blades

[Paradise In Service]

●Best Action Choreography
Li Chung-chi / The White Storm
Yuen Bun, Lin Feng / Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
★Jack Wong / As The Light Goes Out
Donnie Yen, Stephen Tung, Yuen Bun, Yan Hua / Kung Fu Jungle
Lin Sang / Brotherhood Of Blades

●Best Original Film Score Award
Owen Wang, Annie Lo, Nieh Ling / The Twelve Nights
Kenji Kawai / Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
★Chen Qigang / Coming Home
Nathan Wang, Dong Dongdong, Jiang Yongjun / No Man's Land
He Miaoshu / North by Northeast

[The Twelve Nights]

●Best Original Film Song Award
Xin Zhao Yi Sheng / The White Storm
Destination / Aberdeen
Mr. Bird / KANO
Happiness / (Sex) Appeal
★The Road We Pass / The Continent

[Happiness / (Sex) Appeal, by David Tao]

●Best Film Editing
Yau Chi Wai (H.K.S.E.) / The White Storm
Yang Hongyu / Black Coal, Thin Ice
Du Yuan / No Man's Land
★Kong Jinlei, Jolin Zhu / Blind Massage
Zhu Liyun, Tu Yiran / Brotherhood Of Blades

●Best Sound Effects
Kinson Tsang, Yiu Chun-hin, Chow Yuk-lun / The White Storm
Tao Jing / Coming Home
Fu Kang / Red Amnesia
★Fu Kang / Blind Massage
Tu Duu-chih, Tang Hsiang-chu / Paradise In Service

●Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year
Jimmy Huang

●Lifetime Achievement Award
Tian Feng

[A collection of Tian Feng's TV and film works, from Youtube clips]