Back to list

KMT close to completing municipality nominations

2014/06/24 19:10:24

Taipei, June 24 (CNA) The ruling Kuomintang (KMT) has largely completed its nominations for Taiwan's six municipalities after New Taipei Mayor Eric Liluan Chu made known his intention to run for another four-year term.

Widely seen as a 2016 presidential hopeful, Chu said that despite this, he will seek a second mayoral term in the Nov. 29 elections.

He also said that he will finish his second four-year term if re-elected, which would put him out of the running for the presidential election.

Chu is expected to get the nod from the KMT and win the nomination.

The KMT has completed its nomination for the other five municipalities -- Sean Lien in Taipei, incumbent Taoyuan chief Wu Chih-yang for Taoyuan, incumbent Taichung Mayor Jason Hu for the central Taiwan city, Yang Chiu-hsing for Kaohsiung and Huang Hsiu-shuang for Tainan.

There are only three counties for which the KMT has yet to nominate its candidates -- Penghu, Hualien and Lienchiang.

(By Claudia Liu and Lilian Wu)

●June 24: New Taipei mayor pledges to finish second term if re-elected
●June 24: In the end, Chu had little choice but to seek re-election
●June 24: Incumbent New Taipei mayor remains frontrunner in race: poll